Disable place holds for the workstation

7

The option to place holds for the workstation is not useful, and can lead to staff mistakes. It should be either disabled or hidden. (I don’t know if this should be done on a workstation, login, library, or consortium wide level.)

Category

Status: 
In the attic

Comments

Re: Disable place holds for the workstation

Moderator

Just for clarification, when you say placing holds for the workstation, are you referring to the ability to place holds for the logged-in user?

Re: Disable place holds for the workstation

Perhaps. The option that creates the problem is the one that says "Place this hold for me". This too often leads to holds mistakenly placed for "me" instead for the patron who has requested the material.

By the way, the request that the option be disabled or hidden probably only makes sense at the consortium level or lower. However, if disabling or hiding this option is not currently possible, then development that would make this possible would be a good idea!

Re: Disable place holds for the workstation

Moderator

We do actually use this feature on occasion when staff need to place holds to trap items for some non-personal reason (grabbing books for a display, tech services reasons, etc), but those are pretty rare. I wouldn't want to lose the functionality completely by turning it off, but it would definitely help if it were less prominent on the screen, and not right next to the place where you're inputting the hold for an actual patron, which is probably 99% of the time.

Re: Disable place holds for the workstation

It now defaults to "Place hold for patron by barcode" and if you want to use "Place this hold for me" it shows your login name and you have to purposely select it. Certain staff (like me) use the place hold for me option frequently.

 

 

Re: Disable place holds for the workstation

Moderator

Thanks all! I'm moving this idea to the attic given changes in the way the interface works and the desire to maintain the ability to place the hold for the logged-in user.